[itdiscuss] Domain getting tagged as spam in gmail

Thompson, Ken Ken.Thompson at mtw.org
Fri Mar 27 17:09:04 EDT 2009


Ouch - sorry Dan!

If I get the MTW issue figured out, I'll let you know. The SPF didn't fix the problem - the headers in gmail don't say why the messages are getting tagged as spam and the SPF settings in the headers say everything is "Pass".

I've got a friend who works for Google and I'm "pinging" him to see if he can get me to a "warm body" on this issue. In the meantime, if anyone encounters this or has other ideas, please pass along anything, no matter how trivial. MTW has a pretty big user base (we're the Presbyterian Church  in America's mission board) so this is very painful right now.

Appreciate all the help thus far!!

ken

From: discuss-bounces at itdiscuss.org [mailto:discuss-bounces at itdiscuss.org] On Behalf Of Dan Barber
Sent: Friday, March 27, 2009 4:56 PM
To: 'IT Discussion Forum'
Subject: Re: [itdiscuss] Domain getting tagged as spam in gmail

We recently ran into this with sbcglobal.net. Still working on the cause.

Dan

From: discuss-bounces at itdiscuss.org [mailto:discuss-bounces at itdiscuss.org] On Behalf Of Thompson, Ken
Sent: Friday, March 27, 2009 5:55 AM
To: IT Discussion Forum
Subject: [itdiscuss] Domain getting tagged as spam in gmail

Is anyone else having an issue with email from your domain getting tagged as "SPAM" in Gmail and Yahoo mail? This just started a few weeks ago for us. @mtw.org messages are going into the Gmail Spam folder for any new people we connect with and send email to.

For instance, a person gives us their email address and wants us to communicate with them. We add them to our contact list and then send something to them. We don't hear back from them and so someone calls. Come to find out, our message to their gmail account went into their gmail spam folder.

This is not happening for people with whom we've been corresponding for some time - only seems to be new gmail accounts.

Of course, Gmail customer service is awesome (if you can find them) - I'm being facetious here - they don't write back. So, have been digging around the web trying to find an answer.

Is anyone else experiencing this? Does anyone have any thoughts on what might be happening. We've seen this with Gmail and Yahoo email - both of whom are using Postini I believe - and only in the past couple months. I've checked our status on the spam blocking services and MTW is NOT blacklisted on any of these that I can tell or see.

Any thoughts?

Ken Thompson
IT Manager, Mission to the World
www.mtw.org<http://www.mtw.org>
ken.thompson at mtw.org<mailto:ken.thompson at mtw.org>

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://optimus.thompsonic.com/pipermail/discuss/attachments/20090327/9bb6c86f/attachment.html>


More information about the discuss mailing list