[itdiscuss] Domain getting tagged as spam in gmail
blloyd at buskercom.com
blloyd at buskercom.com
Fri Mar 27 08:19:22 EDT 2009
What is the purpose of an SPF record?
From: discuss-bounces at itdiscuss.org
[mailto:discuss-bounces at itdiscuss.org] On Behalf Of dave
Sent: Friday, March 27, 2009 7:52 AM
To: 'IT Discussion Forum'
Subject: Re: [itdiscuss] Domain getting tagged as spam in gmail
mtw.org doesn't seem to have correct info in DNS for your SPF record.
That would help in scoring the e-mail properly. You can check for
yourself here:
http://www.kitterman.com/spf/validate.html
Dave Waters
________________________________
From: discuss-bounces at itdiscuss.org
[mailto:discuss-bounces at itdiscuss.org] On Behalf Of Thompson, Ken
Sent: Friday, March 27, 2009 6:55 AM
To: IT Discussion Forum
Subject: [itdiscuss] Domain getting tagged as spam in gmail
Is anyone else having an issue with email from your domain getting
tagged as "SPAM" in Gmail and Yahoo mail? This just started a few weeks
ago for us. @mtw.org messages are going into the Gmail Spam folder for
any new people we connect with and send email to.
For instance, a person gives us their email address and wants us to
communicate with them. We add them to our contact list and then send
something to them. We don't hear back from them and so someone calls.
Come to find out, our message to their gmail account went into their
gmail spam folder.
This is not happening for people with whom we've been corresponding for
some time - only seems to be new gmail accounts.
Of course, Gmail customer service is awesome (if you can find them) -
I'm being facetious here - they don't write back. So, have been digging
around the web trying to find an answer.
Is anyone else experiencing this? Does anyone have any thoughts on what
might be happening. We've seen this with Gmail and Yahoo email - both of
whom are using Postini I believe - and only in the past couple months.
I've checked our status on the spam blocking services and MTW is NOT
blacklisted on any of these that I can tell or see.
Any thoughts?
Ken Thompson
IT Manager, Mission to the World
www.mtw.org
ken.thompson at mtw.org
Bill Lloyd
IT Manager
Busker Communications
2567 Athens Hwy.
Gainesville, GA 30507
Phone: 770-417-1604
Fax: 770-417-1747
Cell: 404-379-6963
blloyd at buskercom.com
This email and any accompanying attachments may contain confidential and proprietary information. If you are not the intended recipient, you are requested to delete this entire communication immediately. Emails cannot be guaranteed to be secure or free of errors or viruses. The sender does not accept any liability or responsibility for any problems that may result from emails you receive.
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://optimus.thompsonic.com/pipermail/discuss/attachments/20090327/1ad6c5bf/attachment.html>
-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Name: bcilogo25.jpg
Type: image/jpeg
Size: 14873 bytes
Desc: not available
URL: <http://optimus.thompsonic.com/pipermail/discuss/attachments/20090327/1ad6c5bf/attachment-0002.jpg>
More information about the discuss
mailing list