[itdiscuss] Domain getting tagged as spam in gmail
Thompson, Ken
Ken.Thompson at mtw.org
Fri Mar 27 08:10:45 EDT 2009
OK, made some tweaks to SPF and now, using your link, get this:
Input accepted, querying now...
Mail sent from: 70.46.192.202
Mail from (Sender): mtw.org
Mail checked using this SPF policy: v=spf1 a -all
Results - PASS sender SPF authorized
Mail sent from: 70.46.192.202
Mail Server HELO/EHLO identity: mtw.org
HELO/EHLO Results - PASS sender SPF authorized
Sounds like I have SPF set correctly now - would you agree? Anything I'm missing?
KT
From: discuss-bounces at itdiscuss.org [mailto:discuss-bounces at itdiscuss.org] On Behalf Of dave
Sent: Friday, March 27, 2009 7:52 AM
To: 'IT Discussion Forum'
Subject: Re: [itdiscuss] Domain getting tagged as spam in gmail
mtw.org doesn't seem to have correct info in DNS for your SPF record. That would help in scoring the e-mail properly. You can check for yourself here:
http://www.kitterman.com/spf/validate.html
Dave Waters
________________________________
From: discuss-bounces at itdiscuss.org [mailto:discuss-bounces at itdiscuss.org] On Behalf Of Thompson, Ken
Sent: Friday, March 27, 2009 6:55 AM
To: IT Discussion Forum
Subject: [itdiscuss] Domain getting tagged as spam in gmail
Is anyone else having an issue with email from your domain getting tagged as "SPAM" in Gmail and Yahoo mail? This just started a few weeks ago for us. @mtw.org messages are going into the Gmail Spam folder for any new people we connect with and send email to.
For instance, a person gives us their email address and wants us to communicate with them. We add them to our contact list and then send something to them. We don't hear back from them and so someone calls. Come to find out, our message to their gmail account went into their gmail spam folder.
This is not happening for people with whom we've been corresponding for some time - only seems to be new gmail accounts.
Of course, Gmail customer service is awesome (if you can find them) - I'm being facetious here - they don't write back. So, have been digging around the web trying to find an answer.
Is anyone else experiencing this? Does anyone have any thoughts on what might be happening. We've seen this with Gmail and Yahoo email - both of whom are using Postini I believe - and only in the past couple months. I've checked our status on the spam blocking services and MTW is NOT blacklisted on any of these that I can tell or see.
Any thoughts?
Ken Thompson
IT Manager, Mission to the World
www.mtw.org<http://www.mtw.org>
ken.thompson at mtw.org<mailto:ken.thompson at mtw.org>
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://optimus.thompsonic.com/pipermail/discuss/attachments/20090327/3acac3ec/attachment.html>
More information about the discuss
mailing list